Dr. Tim Mitchell Receives 2016 SASD-Swier Law Firm Legislative Leadership Award™

Dr. Tim Mitchell and South Dakota Secretary of Education Dr. Melody Schopp

On February 3, 2016, the inaugural School Administrators of South Dakota-Swier Law Firm "Legislative Leadership Award"™ was presented to Dr. Tim Mitchell of Rapid City.  

Dr. Mitchell became the Superintendent of Schools for the Rapid City Area Schools on July 1, 2010. He previously served as the Superintendent of Schools for the Chamberlain School District from 1995-2010. He received his M.A. in Educational Administration (1995), his Ed.S in School Superintendency (2000), and his Ed.D in School Superintendency (2008) from the University of South Dakota.

Dr. Mitchell serves on the Executive Board of the South Dakota School Superintendents Association and was President during the 2005-2006 school year. For the 2014-2015 school year he was selected as SDSSA South Dakota Superintendent of the Year. Dr. Mitchell has served on the Executive Board of the School Administrators of South Dakota and was President for the 2006-2007 school year. He currently serves as the SASD's Legislative Chairperson. Dr. Mitchell served on the American Association of Administrators National Governing Board from 2008-2012.  He currently serves on the AASA Executive Board representing Region 3.  He is also member of the AASA Century Club, AASA Legislative Corp., and Horace Mann League.  Dr. Mitchell also serves on the REL Central Advisory Board and has held the position of Chairperson since 2013.

The purpose of the Legislative Leadership Award is to recognize a school administrator who has provided exceptional service in governmental advocacy on behalf of the SASD.